Programs & Student Services

Responsibilities include:

  • Curriculum implementation and instruction.
  • Professional development of administrators, teachers and educational support staff.
  • Providing programs and support services for students with special needs.
  • Developing policies and procedures for the effective operation of all schools in the region.
  • Evaluating provincial examination results provided by the Department of Education.
  • Developing appropriate education responses if South Shore students are not meeting expected learning outcomes.
  • Reviewing and recommending curriculum-based pilot projects and school-based programs to the Board.

Please contact the staff member below regarding any questions or concerns related to their area of expertise.

Staff Contact Details Contact For
Jeff DeWolfe
Director of Programs and Student Services
Phone: 902-541-3045
Email: jdewolfe@ssrsb.ca
  • Parent Concerns
  • Programs and Student Services Policies and Procedures
  • Community (multi-agency) Partnerships
  • Student Transfer Requests
  • Supervisory Matters: Programs & Student Services
Cheryl Veinotte
Exec. Asst. to  Director of Programs and Student Services
Administrative Assistant – FSL & SSP
Phone: 902-541-3004
Email: cveinotte@ssrsb.ca
  • Book Bureau Orders
  • Home Tutor Support
  • Student Transfer Requests
  • Correspondence Studies Requests
  • Home Schooling Information
  • Programs and Student Services Policies and Procedures
  • Student Success Planning (SSP)
  • French Second Language (FSL) Programs
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANTS TO COORDINATORS/CONSULTANTS
Diana Knock
Administrative Assistant – Student Services
Phone: 902-541-3021
Email: dknock@ssrsb.ca
  • TA Information
    • Psychology, LD, S-LP, OT/PT, AT Inquiries
  • Guidance Inquiries
  • Specialist Referrals
Sharon Jewer
Admin. Asst. – Technology Integration & RCH
Phone: 902-541-8226
Email: sjewer@ssrsb.ca
  • General Inquiries For:
    • Race Relations, Cross-Cultural Understanding and Human Rights
    • Information Technology
    • International Students Program
    • Regional Fairs/Exhibitions (Art, Science & Heritage)
Tracey Cook
Accounting Clerk – Programs
Phone: 902-541-3047
Email: tcook@ssrsb.ca
  • General Inquiries Regarding P-12 Programs
  • Questions Regarding: Workit, O2, and CO-OP Programming
ASSISTIVE TECHNOLOGY
Barbara Welsford
Assistive Technology Specialist
Phone: 902-541-3008
Email: bwelsford@ssrsb.ca
  • Assistive Technology Services
  • Devices For Students With Disabilities
  • AT Teacher Training
Anita Kingdon
Assistive Technology Facilitator
Phone: 902-541-3024
Email: akingdon@ssrsb.ca
  • Assistive Technology Services
  • Devices For Students With Disabilities
  • AT Teacher Training
AUTISM SUPPORT & LEARNING CENTRES
Catherine Rahey
Consultant for Autism & Learning Centres; Behaviour & Complex Cases Support
Phone: 902-521-8547
Email: crahey@ssrsb.ca
  • Autism Support
  • Behavior Support
  • Autism Centre Information
  • Learning Centre Inquiries
  • Services for Students with Developmental Disabilities
  • Interventions
  • Program Planning
Ann Wentzell
Consultant for Autism & Learning Centres; Behaviour & Complex Cases Support
Phone: 902-523-1814
Email: awentzell@ssrsb.ca
  • Autism Support
  • Behavior Support
  • Autism Centre Information
  • Learning Centre Inquiries
  • Services for Students with Developmental Disabilities
  • Interventions
  • Program Planning
Kelli Nauss
Transition Facilitator, Autism Centre
Phone: 902-521-8631
Email: knauss@ssrsb.ca
  • Transition Facilator
ASSESSMENT & QUALITY INSTRUCTION
Denise Dodge-Baker
Coordinator for Assessment & Quality Instruction
Phone: 902-521-9245
Email: ddodgebaker@ssrsb.ca
  • CSI Plans
  • School Annual Reports
FRENCH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE 
Mary Chisholm
Coordinator for French Second Language (FSL) Programs, Early Years Initiatives and P-6 Programs
Phone: 902-521-1371
Email: mchisholm@ssrsb.ca
  • All FSL Programming
  • Early Years Program
  • Regional Fairs (Art, Science & Heritage)
HEALTH CARE NEEDS
Christine Hirsch
Liaison for Students with Health Care Needs
Phone: 902-521-2097
Email: chirsch@ssrsb.ca
  • Emergency Health Planning
  • Student and Staff Health Policies
  • Health Resources – Information, Books
  • Support for Families/Students with Health Care Needs
Karen Seamone
Social Emotional Learning Facilitator
Phone: 902-523-2916
Email: kseamone@gnspes.ca
  • Inquiries regarding Social Emotional Learning
  • PATHS Program
  • Roots of Empathy Program
  • Staff Training
INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS PROGRAM
Mitch Landry
International Programs Coordinator
Phone: 902-521-2946
Email: mlandry@ssrsb.ca
  • Nova Scotia International Student Program
  • International Student Transfers
  • Homestay Coordination
  • General ISP Inquiries
PROGRAMS (CURRICULUM)
Mark MacLeod
Coordinator of Programs
Phone: 902-541-0825
Email: mmacleod@ssrsb.ca
  • Curriculum/Instructional Programs
  • SELL/ExSELL Program
  • PATHS
  • IB, AP
  • Bursaries/Scholarships
  • Health and Learning
  • O2/CO-OP/Workit, CBL, Skilled Trades
  • Adult High
  • Reading Recovery
  • Mathematics Interventionists & Coaches
PROGRAM PLANNING
Connie Bird
Consultant for Student Program Planning
Phone: 902-523-1023
Email: awentzell@ssrsb.ca
  • School Based Teams and Individual Program Planning
  • Behavioural Support
PSYCHOLOGY SERVICES
Shannon Hartlen
Psychologist
Phone: 902-350-0340
Email: shartlen@ssrsb.ca
  • Psychology Services for: DJCWA, NQCS, LRHS, GES, SQMS

 

Kelly Humphries
Psychologist
Phone: (902) 521-5181
Email: khumphries@ssrsb.ca
  • Psychology Services for: BCS, BES, BJSHS, Alternate School
Janine Brennan
Psychologist
Phone: 902-521-8425
Email: jbrennan@ssrsb.ca
  • Psychology Services for : BA, NGES, NGRHS, WNES
Beth MacInnis
Psychologist
Phone: 902-277-1727
Email: bmacinnis@ssrsb.ca
  • Psychology Services for: ACES, BTES, CAMS, CDES, FHCS, NRCS

 

Rachel Lathrop
Psychologist
Phone: 902-521-8724
Email: rlathrop@ssrsb.ca
  • Psychology Services for: HA, PVEC, NES, PES, PRES

 

RACE RELATIONS, CROSS-CULTURAL UNDERSTANDING & HUMAN RIGHTS (RCH)
Lamar Eason
Coordinator of RCH
Phone: 902-521-3449
Email: leason@ssrsb.ca
Twitter Feed: @SSRSBdiversity
  • Dignity in the Workplace Inquiries
  • Student Support Issues
  • Bullying
  • Human Rights, Social Justice, Race Relations and Equity Inquiries
  • Behaviour Support
  • Poverty Intervention
  • Student Support Work Contacts
SCHOOLS PLUS
Linda Jensen
SchoolsPlus Facilitator
Phone: 902-521-
Email: ljensen@ssrsb.ca
  • Various Issues Related to SchoolsPlus
  • Support to Youth, Families, Communities
  • Contact for Community Outreach Workers
  • Community Partnerships for SchoolsPlus
Shannon Campbell
SchoolsPlus Associate Facilitator
Phone: 902-521-6360
Email: scampbell@ssrsb.ca
  • Manage Expansion
  • Support for SchoolsPlus Facilitator
SEVERE LEARNING DISABILITIES
Stacey Kosiba
Learning Disability Facilitator
Phone: 902-521-6916
Email: skosiba@ssrsb.ca
  • Inquiries Regarding Learning Disabilities
  • Learning Disability Adaptations
  • Community of Schools Process Inquiries
  • Staff Training
Cindy Kowalyk
Learning Disability Facilitator
Phone: 902-523-3517
Email: ckowalyk@ssrsb.ca
  • Inquiries Regarding Learning Disabilities
  • Learning Disability Adaptations
  • Community of Schools Process Inquiries
  • Staff Training
Andrea Conrad
Learning Disability Facilitator
Phone: 902-521-5904
Email: aconrad@ssrsb.ca
  • Inquiries Regarding Learning Disabilities
  • Learning Disability Adaptations
  • Community of Schools Process Inquiries
  • Staff Training
SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY (S-LP) 
Janessa Keans
Speech-Language Pathologist
Phone: 902-527-8653
Email: jkeans@ssrsb.ca
Speech-language Services. *note: S-LP is referred through the school, contact your student’s school directly for more information.
Sheri McGill
Speech-Language Pathologist
Phone: 902-521-6721
Email: smcgill@ssrsb.ca
Speech-language Services *note: S-LP is referred through the school, contact your student’s school directly for more information.
Richelle Parlee
Speech-Language Pathologist
Phone: 902-521-9038
Email: rparlee@ssrsb.ca
Speech-language Services *note: S-LP is referred through the school, contact your student’s school directly for more information.
Karen Friskney
Speech-Language Pathologist
Phone: 902-521-6270
Email: kfriskney@ssrsb.ca
Speech-language Services *note: S-LP is referred through the school, contact your student’s school directly for more information.
Jennifer Graveline
Speech-Language Pathologist
Phone: 902-521-6371
Email: jgraveline@ssrsb.ca
Speech-language Services *note: S-LP is referred through the school, contact your student’s school directly for more information
Stephanie Wamboldt
Speech-Language Pathologist
Phone: 902-541-8230
Email: swamboldt@ssrsb.ca
Speech-language Services *note: S-LP is referred through the school, contact your student’s school directly for more information
Charlotte Griffiths
Speech-Language Pathologist
Phone: 902-298-9080
Email: cgriffiths@ssrsb.ca
Speech-language Services *note: S-LP is referred through the school, contact your student’s school directly for more information
Sarah Jenson
Speech-Language Pathologist
Phone: 902-857-2600
Email: sjenson@ssrsb.ca
Speech-language Services *note: S-LP is referred through the school, contact your student’s school directly for more information
Samantha McMullin
Speech-Language Pathologist
Phone: 902-527-8653
Email: smcmullin@ssrsb.ca
Speech-language Services *note: S-LP is referred through the school, contact your student’s school directly for more information
STUDENT SERVICES
Darren Haley
Coordinator of Student Services
Phone: 902-521-4961
Email:dhaley@ssrsb.ca
  • Alternate Education Programs
  • Interventions, Program Planning
  • Teacher Assistant Inquiries
  • Gifted and Talented Education
  • Student Services Staff Supervision
  • Early Literacy Project (Intervention)
  • Guidance
  • Behaviour Support
  • Tell Them From Me surveys
LITERACY SUPPORT
Gretchen Gerhardt
Literacy Coordinator
Phone: 902-521-5099
Email: ggerhardt@ssrsb.ca
  • Implementation of the Nova Scotia Literacy Strategy
  • Representative on the Provincial Literacy Working Group
  • Coordinator of Board Literacy Personnel
  • Organizer for Professional Development
  • Monitor, Track & Interpret Literacy Data
Stephen Jamieson
Early Literacy Leader/Literacy Mentor
Phone: 902-521-8615
Email: sjamieson@ssrsb.ca
  • Early Literacy Support Framework & Program Evaluation
  • Early Literacy Intervention, PD, School Visits & Support
  • SELL/ExSELL Protocols
  • P-9 Teachers in Professional Development in Literacy
Sheila Walters
Reading Recovery Teacher Leader
Phone: 902-523-0339
Email: swalters@ssrsb.ca
  • Training Teachers & Providing On-going Training to Teachers in Reading Recovery
  • Teaching Children in Reading Recovery
  • School Visits to Reading Recovery Teachers
  • Collect, Monitor, Track & Interpret Reading Recovery Data
TECHNOLOGY INTEGRATION & ASSESSMENT
Jim Dexter
Coordinator of Technology Integration & Data Management
Phone: 902-521-6552
Email: jdexter@ssrsb.ca
  • Data Analysis and Evaluation
  • Technology Integration
  • iNSchool Student Information System
  • Library Techs
  • Continuous School Improvement
  • Nova Scotia Virtual Schools
  • Digital Resources
  • MEd Cohort Inquiries
  • Moodle
  • School Websites
Peta Wagner
SIS Training & Support Teacher Leader
Phone: 902-521-5088
Email: pwagner@ssrsb.ca
  • PowerSchool
  • PowerTeacher
  • TIENET
Contact Us

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject (required)

Your Message